Joanne Potter, textile artist – a Monday Mention!

So today’s post is a little bit different as I wanted to do a quick post about a fellow stitcher that I came across online – maybe the Monday Mentions will become a regular thing. We’ll have to wait and see!

I came across Jo1anne Potter on Folksy when browsing for gift ideas, and her work is FANTASTIC!

Joanne is a 3D design graduate who has since turned her hand to stunning hand constructed textiles and accessories. So much work goes into each design, and they are great fun too! My personal favourite is the ladybird rucksack, made from green corduroy, velvet and ribbon with appliqué ladybirds. The bag straps are lady bird wings – how cute is that?!2

I also really loved this small denim bag with a pencil design – her attention to detail makes her pieces both unique and fun.

She has a Folksy page with her most recent listings along side a Facebook page so you can stay up to day. There was a very cute watermelon bag in progress on her Facebook page which I’m really looking forward to seeing!

I also think her work is extremely reasonably priced. £85 for a rucksack may seem like a lot of money but when you consider the cost of materials, plus the cost of labour per hour for both the design process and construction, this amount almost seems too little. You can check out her work in the links throughout the post.

If you know anyone that could be featured in a Monday Mention, please comment below!

2 comments

  1. Monday mention, now that is a great idea!! I always liked this Etsy Shop called Sticherie, here’s the link:https://www.etsy.com/shop/stitcherie Their fabric is amazing and in really cute designs like cactui and mushrooms and other random stuff. I also found an etsy shop with a necklace that has a little sewing machine on the end. Too cute! Have you considered doing other bloggers in your Monday Mention?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’ll check them out! Yes I had considered it but I only though of doing Monday Mentions at about 1am this morning so I didn’t work out the finer details! I’d like to mention other bloggers, businesses, designers, anything really! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

