2021 – new year, new plans (again)

It’s been more than a year since I last wrote a blog post 🤦🏼‍♀️ Let’s face it in, in 2020 it wasn’t like I was doing much else to be too busy to blog, but honestly, I just didn’t want to write anything. I’ve made no secret of the fact that I struggle with my body image and how much weight I’ve gained over the years and 2020 was no exception. That and blogging seems to be a bit uncool, especially among sewing bloggers, although I’ve noticed an increase in posts lately – maybe the reason we stopped blogging was just 2020?! I used to enjoy writing posts, and inspired by my friend Georgina (who’s post here was probably the only blog I read last year) and her 365 days of sewing I’ve decided to (try) to get back in to the swing of things this year and blog more often. It may not all be thrilling 🎉content🎉, but at least it’s something I enjoy doing.

I’ve made a small list of sewing projects I want to complete in 2021, and I’m going to aim for 1 blog post a month:

  • Make some jeans on my vintage Singer sewing machine. It’s a 100 year old hand crank machine that I’ve only ever sewn one thing on, so I’m anticipating this will be a bit of a learning curve
  • Make a quilt. I’ve got a design in mind and I’ve never quilted before so it could be a bit ambitious
  • Make a bra. I made most of a bra in 2020 but didn’t have quite the right elastics to finish it off, but I have a growing stash of lingerie supplies to experiment with
  • Knit a jumper. This one I’ve already started (and unravelled) and I’m hopeful this will be a good sofa-based activity during the long winter months
  • Knit some socks. This is definitely a bit ambitious as this is a lot more fiddly than a plus size jumper, so might park this one until later in the year. Jessamy B is currently doing a KAL for a basic sock, if anyone is interested in having a go!
  • Make some new face cleansing pads. I made some a while ago but they’re a bit crap and I could do with some new ones
  • Make a backpack. I don’t like handbags that sit on one shoulder as they give me backache, and my current backpack is a bit small. This also won’t require any fitting – a win-win in my book
  • Finish a large cross-stich project I’ve had on the go for years. I’d hoped to get it done before Christmas 2020, but that didn’t happen, although there’s not too much left to go

Anyway, that’s probably too many goals considering how unproductive I was last year, but keep your fingers crossed for me!

4 thoughts on “2021 – new year, new plans (again)

  1. Beads and Barnacles says:

    Ooh welcome back to blogging, I think I fell off the blog wagon fairly early in 2020 but think I’m back again now…
    This looks like a nice list, I remember sewing on a hand cranked machine whilst at uni and can suggest that hand rolled hems are best kept for machines that let you use both hands to hold the fabric. Lol, but jeans sound like a nice challenge for the machine.
    And welcome to the dark side, socks aren’t as scary as they might look. and are great to wear…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment