November sewing plans

Another month gone, so time to make more plans! After a month of ‘no plan, no pressure’ sewing, I am ready to set myself some simple goals for November to ease me in to winter stitching and hopefully get my sewjo going again:

  • Make a Grainline Studio Linden. I’ve already got the fabrics out to make one this weekend. I want to refresh my memory before I start planning my Linden swap!
  • Make a t-shirt for Hayden. He bought some fun jersey in Germany in the summer and I just never got time to make this last month.
  • Catch up on some posts. I know I make this plan every month but I have 3 or 4 posts that just need some tweaking and photographs adding and I don’t really have an excuse to not post them.
  • Start knitting a hat. I have a hat kit that I bought last year but never started, and I’d quite like a project to do when sitting on the sofa. I can’t actually knit, though so this could prove stressful!
  • Eat the frog. I know this is a weird one and I can assure you that I won’t be eating any actual frogs! The theory is based on a Mark Twain quote – “If it’s your job to eat a frog, it’s best to do it first thing in the morning. And if it’s your job to eat two frogs, it’s best to eat the biggest one first.” which essentially means ‘do the worst job first and the rest will be easy’. My frog is a pair of trousers. You know, the Simplicity ones I’ve had in my monthly plans 5 or 6 times now… If I can at least get them to the stage of being fitted then this will be a successful month!

October in review

I made no sewing plans last month, and it was great. I did do some stitching though – I made a By Hand London Anna dress to wear to a wedding and finished a set of pyjamas and did nothing else. It was lovely. I wouldn’t have had much time to sew any way in October as I went away a couple of times, although I did visit Kantje Boord in Amsterdam and brought home some sewing treats! I wrote in my last post about how I find this time of year a struggle but I’ve spent the last few weeks trying to take positive steps to help my mental wellbeing and I do feel much better than I did at the beginning of October. There have been a few ups and downs but as I had hoped, I had a pretty positive month overall.

One thought on “November sewing plans

Leave a comment